Software Engineering Institute | Carnegie Mellon University
Software Engineering Institute | Carnegie Mellon University

IEEE Computer Society/Software Engineering Institute Watts S. Humphrey Software Process Achievement Award

Nomination Deadline: June 1, 2018

Nominate an individual or group.

The IEEE Computer Society/Software Engineering Institute Watts S. Humphrey Software Process Achievement Award is presented to recognize outstanding achievements in improving the ability of a target organization to create and evolve software-dependent systems. The award need not be made each year, and multiple awards may be made in a single year.

The Humphrey Award is named for Watts S. Humphrey, known as the "Father of Software Quality." Humphrey, following a long career with IBM, served at the SEI from 1986 until his death in 2010. He dedicated the majority of his career to addressing problems in software development including software quality, programmer motivation and commitment, team process discipline, and how organizations can best support these. During Humphrey's tenure at the SEI, characteristics of best practices at the individual, team, and organizational levels were identified that laid the groundwork for the Personal Software Process, the Team Software Process, the Capability Maturity Model (CMM) for Software and, eventually, CMM Integration (CMMI). In 2005, Humphrey received the National Medal of Technology for his work in software engineering.

"We have found by applying to software the principles that made the industrial revolution possible, software engineering teams can achieve improvements in quality, predictability, and productivity that exceed our wildest dreams." –Watts S. Humphrey

The award may be presented to an individual or a group. Recipients are most often employees of the target organization. If not, recipients may work for an organization that provided software engineering process improvement benefits to the target organization. For example, the recipient organization may be an organization that provides services related to software engineering process improvement to the target organization, or it may be an association that supports activities related to software engineering process improvement that benefit one or more target organizations. The target organization may be for-profit, not-for-profit, or non-profit; may be an industrial, academic, or government organization or foundation; and need not be based in the United States.

The achievements being recognized can be the result of any type of process improvement activity. In particular, they need not be based on a specific framework, model, or body of software engineering principles, practices, techniques, or methods.

The award nomination may be submitted by a group, or nominees may nominate themselves. Award nominations must be seconded by a senior executive of the organization in which the nominated individual or group works and supported by a 12-page nomination package. The nomination package is comprised of a 2-page overview and up to 10 pages of supplemental information that shows how the nominee's productivity improvement is, to an exceptional degree, significant, measured, sustained, and shared.

The award will be announced and recognized by both the IEEE Computer Society and the Software Engineering Institute (SEI). Recipients will receive an engraved, commemorative plaque at a conference in which they present their accomplishments. Recipients will also be required to produce an SEI technical report describing their accomplishments.

More information about the nomination and award process, deadlines, and past recipients can be located at Questions should be directed to the Humphrey Award Coordinator.

See the reports produced by previous Humphrey Award recipients.

Humphrey Award Selection Subcommittee Members

Chair: Mike Konrad, Software Engineering Institute
Vice Chair: Gerd Hoefner, Siemens Technology India

Voting Members
Jens Heidrich, Fraunhofer IESE
Gerd Hoefner, Siemens Technology India
Ramakrishnan Muthuraman, Retired
Clas Neumann, SAP Labs Network
Ed Weller, Integrated Productivity Solutions, LLC

Non-voting Members
Neal Mackertich, Raytheon Company
Julia Mullaney, Software Engineering Institute
Dieter Rombach, Fraunhofer IESE

Humphrey Award Coordinator: Michele Falce, Software Engineering Institute

Winners Announced

The SEI and the IEEE Computer Society have announced the winners of the 2016 IEEE Computer Society/SEI Watts S. Humphrey Software Process Achievement Award.


Nominate Today

Do you know a person or team that deserves recognition for their process improvement activities?