Software Engineering Institute | Carnegie Mellon University
Software Engineering Institute | Carnegie Mellon University

SEI Software Architecture Certificate Programs

Software architecture determines how you communicate design decisions, structure work breakdowns, and create software product lines. The SEI has developed two software architecture certificate programs to equip software professionals with state-of-the-art practices for designing, documenting, evaluating, and implementing software architectures.

Since 1984 the SEI has been identifying, developing, and advocating practices for designing high-quality software and protecting networked systems.

The software architecture certificate programs offered were developed based on decades of experience with software-intensive systems and supported by four widely acclaimed practitioner books in the SEI Addison-Wesley Series. Software professionals can complete one or more of three software architecture certificate programs. These programs are based on completion of specified sequences in the software architecture curriculum as depicted below.

There is a two-year allowable time period for completing any of the SEI Software Architecture Certificate Programs, starting on the date of completing the first course in the certificate sequence.

SEI Software Architecture Professional Certificate

SEI Architecture Tradeoff Analysis Method (ATAM) Evaluator Certificate

SEI Service-Based Architecture Professional Certificate

Candidates for Software Architecture certificates are required to pass an objective assessment of their knowledge of Software Architecture: Principles and Practices

Training courses provided by the SEI are not academic courses for academic credit toward a degree. Any certificates provided are evidence of the completion of the courses and are not official academic credentials.